the delicious miss dahl

July 3, 2011

What with the weather being so unusually dreary for this time of the year, having finally finished my first year of college but at at the same time starting work tomorrow – I have spend all weekend watching period pieces (Jane Eyre, Downton Abbey etc.), reading A Game of Thrones and watching Sophie Dahl cook roasted tomato soup and double-baked cheese and chive potato, which reminded me an awful lot of the short time I spent in Ireland and I wish I could be back there right now. By the way, and you didn’t hear this from me, but you can download most of the episodes right here. The show just seems so right at the moment because mostly the food’s about comfort, and as she herself says: “simple, honest & straight-forward food”, it’s also accompanied by great rainy-day music and some lovely fitting quotes.

I’ve almost managed not to leave my bed today, were it not for the short period of time where I went to the bathroom, brushed my teeth & made tea. Right now I am debating wether to stay here or go to the bookshop, because as pleasantly surprising as it’s been reading A Game of Thrones on my iPad, I don’t think it will suffice. Alas I shall go because N. just called and we’re gonna go to the movies and get frozen yoghurt. Sundays, I adore you. Now where are my corduroys – it’s such a corduroy day, don’t you think?

I ate more cake, read tragic French novels and hated the fields and stupid fences I was surrounded by. I longed for London, a minor Parisian appetite, lithe limbs, complication and Chantal Thomass knickers. Mercifully, the knowledge of how to aquire such things remained totally out of my reach.
Sophie Dahl 


The Elizabethtown OST usually helps out on days like these too.

Come Pick Me Up, Ryan Adams
or
Long Ride Home, Patty Griffin

Leave a Reply

