the concept of impermanence

May 15, 2011


This [post] is isn’t to say I celebrate our throw-away culture but over, let’s say the last two years, I’ve simply become less sentimental about objects. A lesson learned mostly by the fact that I am the biggest klutz and tend to forget scarves on airplanes, am stupid enough to wear light shoes to nightclubs etc. As most of us know Oscar Wilde once said: “Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months,” this isn’t what I am talking about either. It’s more to do with the buddhist concept of impermanence. The cycle of birth and rebirth and how it relates to clothes. And I’m going to stop talking now because I think you’re either there or you’re not, you either understand or you don’t, which isn’t to say one way is the right way.

What piece in your closet means the most to you?
None: clothes are made to disappear. They lose their magic with time, and one shouldn’t treat any object with devotion—which doesn’t mean that you don’t appreciate quality, beauty, rarity, refinement and talent.
Inès de la Fressange

“I’m not big on possessions. The last time I moved, I left everything in my old house. I’m not sentimental. I lose things easily, which annoys people.”
Luella Bartley

“It is in the nature for things to be lost and not otherwise.”
A Field Guide to Getting Lost, Rebecca Solnit

3 Responses to “the concept of impermanence”

  1. savvy gal Says:

    very thoughtful post.

  2. Alexia Says:

    I agree on that in a way. I’m thinking hard about having a wardrobe in which I’d love every single item. But I realised that if I had to save some, there would be maybe just 5, all of them handed down by someone important to me. So the clothes are not important, it’s where and from whom they come from that matters.

  3. Féminité Says:

    Agreed a 100%. I learned this the hard way. By being over-sentimental and being possessive of materials (I’m not materialistic but still), I hurt people around me. It is indeed not worth it. These things do not last. That’s exact!


Leave a Reply

